Wolfgang Bleck


Born on 8 May 1951 in Duisburg, Germany.


1970 - Grammar School-School Leaving Certificate (Abitur)

1970–1975 - Studies of Physical Metallurgy at the TU Clausthal and RWTH Aachen University

1975–1979 - Doctorate in Physical Metallurgy at the TU Clausthal


Professional Career:

1980–1993 - ThyssenKrupp Stahl AG-Research (ultimately head of the department “Process and Steel Development of Flat Rolled Products”)

since 1994 - Professor of Ferrous Metallurgy at the RWTH

1994–2018 - Aachen University Head of the Steel Instituteof RWTH Aachen University


Research Interests: Development and characterisation of newsteels; new processes for steel products; light-weight structures; integrated computational materials engineering; nanostructured steels


Professional Activities:

1994–2018 - Member of the Extended Board of the German Iron and Steel Institute

1996–1997 - Head of the RWTH Metallurgy and Materials Group

1999–2003 - RWTH representative for EU-research

2000–2002 - Elected Member of the senate of RWTH Aachen University

2002–2005 - Vice rector for structure, research and human resources development

2007–2019 - Speaker of the collaborative research center SFB 761 “Steel–ab initio”

2007–2019 - Member of the Steering Committee of the Cluster of Excellence “Integrative Production Technology for High-Wage Countries”

2008–2013 - Member of the directors’board of ICAMS (International Center of Advanced Materials Simulation of University of Bochum)

2008–2014 - Administrative director of HumTec Project House (Collaborative research on humanities and technologies) of the RWTH Aachen University

2012–2014 - Elected member of the senate of RWTH Aachen University

2012–2020 - Member of the DFG-Review Board Materials Science and Engineering

2014–2016 - Dean of the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering

2016–2018 - Vicedean of the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering



Wissenschaftlicher Arbeitskreis der Univ.-Professoren der Werkstofftechnik WAW

National Academy of Science and Engineering ACATECH

Scientific Council of Otto-Junker-Foundation (chairman)

Scientific Council of the research foundation AVIF

Scientific Council National University of Science and Technology MISIS, Moscov

International Scientific Advisory Board COMET K2 Center, Leoben

International Research Advisory Panel, King Mongkut University, Bangkok

Editorial Board of the journal steel research international (chairman)